Exploring Brazil’s Border Melting Pot: Discover the Neighboring Countries that Share Boundaries with Brazil!

Brazil shares borders with ten countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Colombia, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, Venezuela, and French Guiana (overseas territory of France).

Now take a closer look

Brazil, the largest country in South America, shares its borders with ten neighboring nations. These countries are Argentina, Bolivia, Colombia, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, Venezuela, and French Guiana (overseas territory of France).

Brazil’s diverse and extensive borders showcase the country’s connection to its South American neighbors. Each bordering country brings its unique culture, history, and geographical features to the region. Let’s delve into some interesting facts about Brazil’s bordering countries:

  1. Argentina: Brazil’s border with Argentina stretches for about 1,261 miles (2,030 kilometers) along the countries’ shared border, making it the longest border Brazil shares with any nation. The Iguazu Falls, one of the world’s largest waterfalls, is located on this border.

  2. Bolivia: Brazil and Bolivia share a border of approximately 2,104 miles (3,400 kilometers) in length. The Pantanal, the world’s largest tropical wetland area, spreads across both countries.

  3. Colombia: The border between Brazil and Colombia extends for around 945 miles (1,524 kilometers). The Amazon rainforest, which boasts incredible biodiversity, covers significant parts of both countries.

  4. Guyana: Brazil’s border with Guyana spans about 1,308 miles (2,107 kilometers). It is worth noting that the border region encompasses a portion of the Amazon rainforest and the Guiana Shield, one of the world’s oldest geological formations.

  5. Paraguay: The border shared between Brazil and Paraguay is approximately 1,339 miles (2,157 kilometers) long. The Itaipu Dam, one of the largest hydroelectric power plants in the world, is situated on this border.

  6. Peru: Brazil and Peru share a border that extends for about 1,529 miles (2,457 kilometers). The border region includes the astonishing Amazon River, known for its vast size and ecological significance.

  7. Suriname: Brazil’s border with Suriname runs for approximately 413 miles (664 kilometers). The border region is part of the Amazon Rainforest, which is renowned for its rich biodiversity.

  8. Uruguay: The border shared between Brazil and Uruguay spans about 785 miles (1,263 kilometers). Uruguay is known for its beautiful beaches along the Atlantic coast, attracting tourists from around the world.

  9. Venezuela: Brazil shares a border of around 1,497 miles (2,395 kilometers) with Venezuela. The border region is famed for its part of the Amazon rainforest and the stunning Mount Roraima, a table-top mountain featured in Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s novel “The Lost World.”

  10. French Guiana: Brazil’s border with French Guiana measures about 730 miles (1,183 kilometers). The unique location presents an interesting blend of cultures, combining South American and European influences.

IT IS INTERESTING:  From the Ends of the Earth: Unveiling Patagonia's Global Reach as an International Powerhouse

In conclusion, Brazil’s extensive borders foster rich connections with its neighboring countries, highlighting the diverse natural wonders, cultural exchanges, and historical significance within the South American region.

Quote: “Borders are scratched across the hearts of men, by strangers with a calm, judicial pen, and when the borders bleed we watch with dread the lines of ink along the map turn red.” – Marya Mannes.

See a video about the subject.

The Iguazu Falls lie on the border of Brazil and Argentina, as confirmed in the video. The incorrect options of Uruguay, Colombia, and Paraguay are mentioned. Additionally, the video includes a request for viewers to subscribe to the channel and like or share the video on social media platforms.

Check out the other answers I found

About Brazil It is bordered by French Guiana, Suriname, Guyana, and Venezuela in north, by Colombia in north-west, by Peru, Bolivia, and Paraguay in west, by Argentina in south-west, and by Uruguay in south.

Neighboring Countries of Brazil

  • France (French Guiana)
  • Suriname
  • Guyana
  • Venezuela
  • Colombia
  • Peru
  • Bolivia
  • Paraguay

In addition, people ask

Moreover, How many countries border Brazil? Response to this: nine countries
With a coast of 7,367 kilometers, Brazil has terrestrial boundaries with nine countries of South America:Uruguay, Argentina, Paraguay, Bolivia, Peru, Colombia, Venezuela, Guyana and Suriname, and with the French Department of Guiana,with an extention of over 16.886 kilometers.

Besides, What country borders Brazil the most?
Bordering countries

Country Length (km) Bordering Brazilian states
Bolivia 3,423 Acre, Mato Grosso, Mato Grosso do Sul, Rondônia
Paraguay 1,365 Mato Grosso do Sul, Paraná
Argentina 1,261 Paraná, Rio Grande do Sul, Santa Catarina
Uruguay 1,068 Rio Grande do Sul
IT IS INTERESTING:  Discover Ecuador's Diverse Wildlife: Unveiling the Most Common Animals in this Tropical Paradise!


Keeping this in view, What are the three borders of Brazil? The obelisk is a tourist point that symbolically marks the triple border in their respective national colors: Brazil, Argentina and Paraguay. Each of the three obelisks represents the sovereignty of the three nations and are situated on the banks of the Iguaçu and Paraná rivers.

Similarly, How many countries does Brazil not border? The answer is: Answer and Explanation: Ecuador and Chile are the only two countries in South America that do not border Brazil.

Considering this, Which countries border Brazil? Brazil is bordered by Uruguay to the south; by Argentina, Paraguay and Bolivia to the southwest; by Peru to the west; by Columbia to the northwest; by Venezuela, Guyana, Suriname and French Guiana to the north. Brazil Bordering Countries : Guyana, Argentina, Bolivia, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Colombia, Suriname, Venezuela.

In respect to this, Is Brazil a South American country?
Answer will be: Brazil is a South American country. It is the southern hemisphere’s biggest nation. To the east, the Atlantic Ocean; to the north, French Guiana, Suriname, Guyana, Venezuela, and Colombia; to the west, Peru, Bolivia, Paraguay, and Argentina; and to the south, Uruguay. Also, Is Brazil a rich or poor?

Which countries border Guiana? The response is: To the north, it shares a boundary with Colombia, Venezuela, Guyana, Suriname, and the French overseas department of French Guiana. To the northwest, it meets Peru and Bolivia, to the west Argentina and Paraguay, to the southwest Uruguay, and to the south it is bounded by the Atlantic Ocean.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Unveiling Ecuador's Elite Enclaves: Discover Where the Wealthy Reside in this Latin American Gem!

Moreover, Where is Brazil located? Response: Brazil is a large country located in the central-eastern part of South America, bordering the Atlantic Ocean. It occupies almost half of the continent’s landmass and is dissected by both the Equator and the Tropic of Capricorn.

Rate article
South American Sunday